Welcome to My World

Why am I here? Because I have a voice. Because I have something to say. For years my setting was dialed in to “mute”. I’d sit in classrooms or meetings with my lips zipped. If I were called upon, I would quake in fear, like our little dog, a Chihuahua-Dachshund mix named Jaeger Meister. But then, we adopted our first child, Kaiti, a beautiful black haired newborn with a Mohawk. Suddenly I had a voice…and that voice said “I love you”. I vowed that never a day would go by that she wouldn’t hear those words…I love you. Short and to the point…but with endless meaning. Four years later my voice got even stronger when we adopted our second child, Cameron, a bald headed, blue-eyed boy. I love you…everyday…without fail. When I write this my eyes mist up, so I know that this is where my passion lies. My hopes and dreams for my children are that they will love Earth and those who live here as much as I love them.

I have never been able to stand up in front of an audience and talk, or sit in a group of my peers and speak up. I have always let others lead; let others speak for me, to make my decisions for me. It hasn’t always worked out, because to use another’s voice means to lose your own. So now, here we are in the 21st century. We have computers and Internet and texting…and blogs. So now I am determined to let MY voice be heard. And my voice says, “I love you”. Welcome to my world.

One thought on “Welcome to My World

Leave a Reply

